At our June General Session, our 2011 award winners were announced. Thank you to everyone who submitted nominations. Please join us in congratulating our 2011 winners!

The 2011 Volunteer of the Year is awarded to Cherilyn Stephens, PHR
Cherilyn is an HRIS Business Systems Analyst for Franciscan Alliance Information Services and serves on the IndySHRM Board of Directors as the Vice President of Programs. Prior to serving in this capacity, Cherilyn has held the offices of Past President, President, President Elect and Director of Membership. She is also active and involved with the Indiana SHRM State Conference Committee and has been a co-chair on this committee since 2009.

In her nomination, it was said that “…Cherilyn believe in our profession, its impact on organizations, and our influence to advance people in their professions. Her love and passion for human resources drive her motivation to make sure that HR is a visible advocate for strategic organizational development and change.” Cherily has a Bachelor’s degree in Human Resource Management from Ball State University.

The 2011 Award for Professional Excellence is awarded to Mark A. Felty, MA, PHR
Mark is the Chief Human Resources Officer at Krieg Devault. He has held this position for ten years and prior to that served in the United States Air Force for twenty years. Mark is described by his peers as “..exemplif(ing) if qualities HR directors seek in employees: intelligence, loyalty, dependability, and the willingness to continually assume new responsibilities and challenges.” He supervises accounting, information technology, marketing, human resources, legal assistants, receptionists, and paralegals in Indianapolis. He also oversees offices in four other Indiana cities and three other states.

Mark was instrumental in the Krieg Devault being recognized as One of the Top 50 Best Places to Work in Indiana in 2007 and 2007 and as the Top Rated Law Firm in Indiana for 2009. Mark has a Bachelor’s degree in Aviation Technology from Central Missouri State University and his Master’s in Human Resource Development and Management from Webster University.

Both Cherilyn and Mark will be nominated at the state level for the award of the same name. The state winners are announced at an awards ceremony following the general session of the Indiana State Human Resource Conference on Tuesday, August 30, 2011. The full conference will be held August 29-31, 2011 .